Ouroboros has been inactive lately, mostly because I was out of the country, attending the 95th International Titisee Conference in southwestern Germany. The meeting, on the “Molecular Basis of Aging,” was sponsored by the Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds. It was a great experience, and we were extremely well taken care of. If you ever have a chance to attend a Titisee Conference, jump at the chance.

I unfortunately got roped into writing a meeting review for the BIF’s in-house publication, and etiquette requires that I therefore not review it here. I will link to the online version of the review once it’s published (if there is one; if not I might go rogue and reprint our manuscript here). Since there are other authors, and we have to make figures (!), the process will take several weeks.

I’ll be back to a regular schedule next week. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with this delightful image I snapped in a railway station:

Apparently Germans are all about biogerontology, even (especially?) at bathtime.

anti-aging.jpg

(For the Deutsch-impaired: “Our anti-aging cure is over 150 years old.” Sadly, the scientist pictured was nowhere to be found in Titisee. Yes, that name is also funny in German.)