I recently had the opportunity to give an Ignite talk at the 20th Anniversary Summit of the Long Now Foundation. The talks were intended to convey the broad interests of the membership of this organization, which is devoted to long-term, planetary-level thinking.

I elected to speak about the coming era of anti-aging medicine, first giving some short background on the fundamental biology of aging and then talking about some of the challenges and opportunities presented by clinical progress in this field.

 

the presentation went off without a hitch, and I got a tremendous amount of feedback from Long Now members about the talk. It was especially exciting to find out about the topics that non-scientists wanted to learn more about, and this will inform my research on future projects on this topic.

At some point I’m going to put a transcript and all the slides on Medium, but that won’t happen for another week or so.

P.S.: Notwithstanding the MC’s pronunciation, my last name rhymes with “hill,” not “eel”. 😉